Fucking Up a Toaster

So a couple of weeks ago I was doing lots of drawings of collaborative objects, which required a number of people to work together in order to make them operate. I tried to focus on fairly everyday objects – chairs, tables, kettles etc.

I decided I should probably try and make a basic model of one of these. So I messed about with a toaster. What it has to do with my project, I’m not too sure, but I reckon as long as I’m doing something, it’ll be ok.

Cardboard Engineering

As you can see from the cardboard engineering there, my electronic skills are pretty advanced. I came pretty close to electrocuting myself a couple of times.

All in the name of design.

Nuts and Bolts

So I basically just took it apart and rewired it so that it needed five people working in tandem to operate it. I then mounted the five parts on sticks. Its pretty basic at this stage, I may in the future add further layers of complexity to its operation.

I, Toaster _1

Yesterday I finally used it, with a little help from my friends, and made a small film of it.

Did it work? Did we get beautiful golden brown toast? Or were we left disappointed? Stay tuned to find out…

One response to “Fucking Up a Toaster

  1. Pingback: Toast! | OF MY OWN ACCORD

Leave a Reply

